@MOSOntario Mayors of Southwest Ontario Share Needs at @AMOpolicy #AMOCONF16

Windsor, Ont., August 16, 2016 – The Mayors of Southwest Ontario (MOSO) met with Ontario Conservative Leader Patrick Brown, Ontario NDP Leader Andrea Horwath and Provincial Cabinet Ministers yesterday to ensure policy development at the provincial level coincides with local needs.

MOSO hosted a Ministers Forum in concert with this year’s Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) conference in Windsor in an effort to further strengthen the relationship between municipal and provincial governments.
The Minister of Municipal Affairs Hon. Bill Mauro; Minister of Housing and Minister Responsible for the Poverty Reduction Strategy Hon. Chris Ballard; Minister of Infrastructure Hon. Bob Chiarelli; Minister of Transportation Hon. Steven Del Duca; and Minister of Economic Development and Growth Hon. Brad Duguid took part in the forum.

The main topics of discussion and priorities continue to be the region’s core infrastructure, providing affordable housing for all Ontarians, connecting communities with high-speed rail, job creation and economic growth.

MOSO represents the 11 largest urban centres in southwest Ontario. This is the fourth meeting of the Mayors of Southwest Ontario, a group formed in January of 2016.

“This was a great opportunity for southwestern Ontario mayors to ensure that our region’s priorities and issues are front and centre with ministers and decision-makers at Queen’s Park. This is about ensuring provincial policies and programs are aligned with local needs,” said MOSO Vice Chair, Mayor Cam Guthrie.

Added MOSO Chair, London Mayor Matt Brown, “Forums such as this allow for the mayors to act as a collective consultative body as our provincial leaders develop policies and best practices that impact our municipalities.”

MOSO leaders include London Mayor Matt Brown, Guelph Mayor Cam Guthrie, Woodstock Mayor Trevor Birtch, Sarnia Mayor Mike Bradley, Cambridge Mayor Doug Craig, Windsor Mayor Drew Dilkens, Brantford Mayor Chris Friel, St. Thomas Mayor Heather Jackson, Waterloo Mayor Dave Jaworsky, Stratford Mayor Dan Mathieson and Kitchener Mayor Berry Vrbanovic.

Leave a Reply